Books

Finished The Hunger Games Books – Cry – What To Read Next?

Finished The Hunger Games Books – Cry – What To Read Next?

The Hunger Games

Finished The Hunger Games Books – Cry – What To Read Next?

I keep thinking I wanted to clean this list up and wait to publish it for everyone, but you know what? The Hunger Games movie is coming and we have all probably read the book and are waiting for the new thing to come out. Well this is the list I have come up with on what I am going to try and read next. I can tell you I have already finished the Maze Runner series by James Dashner and really loved it.

So now what? Well I think I am going to just randomly pick something to read and hope it lives up to The Hunger Games trilogy. These are my top picks with my secondary picks after that. So can you weigh in and let me know if I should start reading them, will they live up to The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay?

Battle Royale (Novel) by Koushun Takami,Yuji Oniki,Yuji Oniki (Translator)

Uglies (Uglies #1) by Scott Westerfeld

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Ally Condie’s Matched

The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner – This is what I read right after The Hunger Games. I loved it, not as much as The Hunger Games but it came in a close second in the dysotopia category. At some point expect an article on this trilogy.

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking #1) by Patrick Ness

Scorpio Races By Maggie Stiefvater – This came as a direct recommendation by one of the writers are our site. I don’t like horses though.

Some others that I really have not giving much thought to just yet. They are my secondary picks and I picked them from other peoples lists on the web and through word of mouth.

Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

For the Win by Cory Doctorow

Nomansland by Lesley Hauge

Winter’s End by Jean-Claude Mourlevat

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

Dark Life by Kat Falls

Epitaph Road by David Patneaude

Restoring Harmony by Joelle Anthony

X-Isle by Steve Augarde

Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien

The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

The Line by Terri Hall

The Eleventh Plague By Jeff Hirsch

Empty By Suzanne Weyn

Numbers By Rachel Ward

Stolen By Lucy Christopher

Green Witch By Alice Hoffman

Fever Crumb By Philip Reeve

The Gardener by S.A. Bodeen

So after reading The Hunger Games what do you think of this list? Do you think I will like any of these books? What would you suggest that I read next?

View Comments (9)

9 Comments

  1. Drey

    February 21, 2012 at 11:07 am

    The only one that I’ve read of those books (other than the Hunger Games) is Ender’s Game, and it’s a fantastic read. I read it way before I knew about Hunger Games, and it’s got almost all of the elements of Hunger Games, minus the love story in the background.

  2. Isabelle

    February 21, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I would highly recommend The Night Circus

    • Damon Cap

      February 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      who is it by?

  3. Suua P.

    February 21, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    After I finished with The Hunger Games, I just started all over and read it again.

  4. HK

    February 21, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    I have heard many, many good things about Ender’s Game (I should read it before the movie comes out). So that’s probably a nice pick.
    Legend by Marie Lu has also been getting rave reviews. Some director said he likes it better than the Hunger Games. I doubt it would be better but maybe it is equally as good.

    I liked The Maze Runner as well, until the end. Let’s just say that wasn’t what I was expecting. I was thinking a lot less people…. Oh well.

  5. Julie C.

    February 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Try Broken by Susan Jane Bigelow. It’s gotten great reviews, including a starred review from Publishers Weekly (and got an honorable mention in their top books of 2011 list). I was up all night reading it and thought it was better than Hunger Games – the characters will stay with you.

  6. Tianna

    February 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    The whole Uglies series is GREAT. Plus, it has a lot of similarities to HG trilogy that you will probably enjoy

  7. Damon Cap

    February 25, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Blood Red ROad anyone read this?

  8. Fee

    March 17, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Ender’s Game is roughly 1,000,000 times better than any other title on that list.

Leave a Reply

Books

Have three kids, two boys (11 and 9) and a girl (5). I had a grandfather that watched cartoons and read the Sunday funnies until he passed. I feel the same way and continue to watch the Disney channel in my 40s. Check out our BSCKids youtube channel

More in Books

DC Superhero Girls Launch Site

Ella AndersJuly 26, 2015
ad02

Actress Peyton List is the New Face of Bongo!

SarahJuly 24, 2015
NaNoWriMo

Camp Write This Summer with Camp NaNoWriMo

Ella AndersJuly 14, 2015
nickmagazine

Nickelodeon Magazine Makes its Debut!

SarahJuly 4, 2015
LadyBug Zagtoon

Part Magical Girl, Part Superhero; Ladybug Arrives State-Side in Fall

Ella AndersJuly 2, 2015
LionForge-SBTB_01_Cov

Roar Comics Releases Saved by the Bell Graphic Novel

SarahJune 20, 2015

Copyright © 2015 Boomtron LLC