Caroline Inglis Robbed of Victory Over Scorecard Error
A high school senior Caroline Inglis was about to become the first golfer of either sex in Oregon in history to win four consecutive state championships.
Unfortunately there was a bit of bureaucratic confusion to be a disqualified from her latest victory. During the competition Inglis had shot nine fewer then her closest competitor. She had signed and turned in her scorecard that her partner filled in by mistake on the 18th hole. Even though Caroline attempted to fix the error as soon as she became aware of it but the strict rules and organizers refused to reverse the decision and let her take her rightful championship. Inglis’ disqualification thwarted what would have been rare history in the Pacific Northwest. Many of Caroline’s fellow golfers felt their competitors pain noting that the incident was quite unfortunate and were sad to see their wins come at her expensive.
Those sentiments probably do little to comfort Inglis, who could at least take solace in knowing that she’ll get a chance at even greater glory ahead at the University of Oregon, where she has signed to compete in golf. What do you think of this turn of events? What do you think of Caroline’s loss?
Source News: MSN News