Friday Night Lights Named Program of the Year

The hit show Friday Night Lights has come to an end after five glorious seasons and now the show is getting a bit of recognition it deserves.

The sports drama which has been acclaimed by critics triumphed at the 2011 Critics Association Awards on Saturday night by landing the coveted Program of the Year Award.  Other dramas that joined the series was ‘Game of Thrones’, ‘Modern Family’, ‘Sesame Street’ and ‘Mad Men” were among some of the big award winners in Beverly Hills.  John Hamm, Nick Offerman and Ty Burell picked up some of the top acting statues.  Oprah Winfrey was honored with the Career Achievement Award and Dick Van Dyke Show was presented with the Heritage Award.

Friday Night Lights is a  television series from a book and a film of the same name surrounding a high school football team based in fictional Dillon, Texas and focusing on team coach Eric Taylor and his family.  The show uses the small town as a way to address the issues facing contemporary Middle America.  NBC produced the series for two seasons, but even with the critical success it was facing cancellation.  So NBC struck a deal with DirectTV that produced the remaining three seasons and after being broadcast on the 101 Network and then showed on NBC.  The series ended on February 9, 2011.

Source News: Cambio News

About Lainey DeeKay

News Editor here at BSCKids

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>